An Opportunity Offer... šŸ¤

...comes from strong relationships šŸ’Ŗ

Welcome to the OPPO FLOW Storybook.

Each week I send a Mindset Shift to bring alignment and develop stronger opportunity awareness towards your perception of success and happiness.

To get on next weekā€™s FLIGHTā€¦ šŸš€

ā€œIf someone offers you an amazing opportunity, but youā€™re not sure you can do it, say yes - then learn how to do it later.

~ Richard Branson

THE FINAL LEG šŸ›«

The Power of an Opportunity Offer

Masterclass 4 of 4

In this last session, weā€™re going to talk all about how developing GREAT RELATIONSHIPS often brings GOOD OPPORTUNITY.

If you need to catch up on the first three sessions, click the links belowā€¦

There are two main types of relationships.

  • PROFESSIONAL

    • Clients

    • Network

    • Co-workers

  • PERSONAL

    • Close

    • Casual

ā€œYour network is your net worth.ā€

This means that the professional connections you have and the relationships youā€™ve built can have a direct impact on your professional success. šŸ“ˆ

This comes from the idea that good opportunities OFFERED to you through your network are warmer in nature and have a good chance to work out in your favorā€¦

ā€¦but only if you put in the work or come with an open mind to ensure its SUCCESS. šŸ¤©

Good opportunities OFFERED in a professional setting could beā€¦

  • a job šŸ¢

  • a role šŸ‘Øā€šŸ­

  • an event šŸ“Ø

  • a referral šŸ“²

  • a customer šŸ˜„

  • a promotion šŸ“ˆ

  • a partnership šŸ¤

I encourage you to check out šŸ‘‰ FLIGHT #033 for a deeper dive šŸ¤æ into the importance of developing strong professional relationships for growth. šŸ“ˆ

As you look into your personal life and audit those relationships, think about those that are closest to you.

CLOSE relationships are the ones that are your ROCKS šŸŖØ and have your back no matter what.

This circle is probably very small and it should be.

These are the people that have been there through the lows of lows and the highs of highs.

They are the family members and best friends you love the most.

Donā€™t lose sight of these people.

Donā€™t forget about them as youā€™re creating the life you want.

If your legacy and the life youā€™re building includes them, but theyā€™re not there in the end because you werenā€™t there for them along the wayā€¦

ā€¦then what was the point? šŸ˜”

CASUAL relationships are those you can call on whenever needed.

They would probably help you in a bind and they can be your social outlets. šŸ„³

These are the people you donā€™t want to burn a bridge with, but you also donā€™t need to talk to or see them every day.

You may go months (or even years) without seeing or speaking to them, for no reason at all, other than life is just busyā€¦

ā€¦but when you do, itā€™s like it was just yesterday.

Try not to let silence burn the bridge, though.

Be sure to keep in touch every so often. šŸ“±

Perhaps, a quick ā€œHey, thinking about you. Hope all is well.ā€ text or sharing a reel on Instagram that reminds you of them or sending a picture from the past to laugh about.

Many times when you re-connect with CASUAL relationships there is an opportunity OFFERED out of the blue because they know itā€™s something you may be interested in.

For a deeper dive šŸ¤æ on the importance of auditing your personal relationships, I encourage you to check out šŸ‘‰ FLIGHT #032

Offered from Relationships

The power of these relationships are the driving force for growth and opportunity.

Professionally, develop a strong relationship withā€¦

YOUR BOSSā€¦

ā€¦and they could OFFER you a promotion.

YOUR DIRECT REPORTSā€¦

ā€¦and they could OFFER you stability.

YOUR PARTNERSā€¦

ā€¦and they could OFFER you more clients.

YOUR CLIENTSā€¦

ā€¦and they could OFFER you retention.

YOUR CO-WORKERSā€¦

ā€¦and they could OFFER you happiness in the workplace.

YOUR NETWORKā€¦

ā€¦and they could OFFER you the OPPORTUNITY of a LIFETIME. šŸš€

There is an abundance of opportunity out there in your professional life, and the wider your net becomes from developing stronger relationships, the more of a chance you have to be the recipient of great opportunity along the way.

For your business and for yourself.

Personal relationships can OFFER you business opportunities as well.

Perhapsā€¦

ā€¦you have a parent who owns a small business and OFFERS you a position at their company to get your foot in the door.

orā€¦

ā€¦your best friend comes across someone who is looking for a motivational speaker for their event, and they put your name in the hat to OFFER you the opportunity to apply.

One of the best examples I can give about how a professional OPPORTUNITY is OFFERED through a close RELATIONSHIP is by sharing a personal storyā€¦

When I was in college, I was working at an architecture firm.

I wanted to be one of those super creative graphic designers, working with CAD (my interior design and architect homies will know what CAD is) designing fun retail spaces or beautiful custom homes as my career.

I had dreams of creating software that would take a customer through a digital experience of their space and could even purchase items throughout that experience right then and there.

Kind of like AI, but this was back in 2007, and I wasnā€™t that forward thinking (yet).

An exciting and futuristic walk through with design elements that could be updated on the fly with the client.

However, even though I was very good with software, I realized sitting behind a desk all day wasnā€™t for me.

I thought software sales would be a better fit as speaking, developing relationships, and being a resource for people came more natural to me.

You seeā€¦ I come from an entrepreneurial family and I grew up watching my dad develop a software, called MasterTax.

This platform was, and still is, the most widely used payroll tax software in the country.

Wellā€¦ at the young and eager age of 21 years old, I had been explaining my desire to get into sales with my father, and it was then that he OFFERED me an opportunity to join him and his company.

A sales position.

Just what I was wanting.

But, I hesitated as it was unexpected and I passed on the opportunity at that time.

Two reasons.

  1. I knew nothing about payroll taxes (seemed too boring for my creative mind), andā€¦

  2. I didnā€™t want the stereotype of being the bossā€™ son. (dumb)

A year had passed, continuing my work at the architecture firm, and the OFFER was still on the table from my dad.

I discussed with my wife (who was my girlfriend at the time), and she asked one simple question that changed everything.

ā€œIf it wasnā€™t your Dad, would you take the opportunity?ā€

Damnā€¦

Sheā€™s a smart cookie.

What an incredible perspective and a great question to open my mind.

It was a resounding YES, so I decided to JUMP on it.

I called my dad to commit and accept the positionā€¦

But I was nervous.

It was an amazing opportunity, and even though I know nothing about his industry, I knew one thing I had to doā€¦

GO ALL IN.

He wouldnā€™t be able to make me successful.

He had only OFFERED an opportunity.

The rest was up to me to put in the work and make it happen; to eliminate the stigma of being the bossā€™ son.

And, so thatā€™s EXACTLY what I did.

I came in being a sponge, learning the ins and outs of the entire companyā€¦

ā€¦more than I even really needed to know being a young sales guy.

This tenacity paved my own path and my work ethic helped develop trust amongst my peers, clients, and partners.

This allowed me to develop more and more relationships throughout my careerā€¦

ā€¦and ultimately led to me being OFFERED the opportunity to become an entrepreneur for the first time, by purchasing a franchised payroll business back in 2017, serving small businesses in PHX, AZ. šŸŒµ

The great relationship Iā€™ve always had with my father, and the man he saw me grow up to be, gave him the confidence that I wouldnā€™t let him down, and I proved that by attacking the opportunity he OFFERED meā€¦

ā€¦with growth in mind for more opportunity and future success down the road.

Sure enoughā€¦ this became a PIVOTAL MOMENT and Iā€™ve attacked every opportunity that has ever been OFFERED through a relationship, with the same tenacity and grit to make it happen.

To not let them down.

Iā€™ve seen what this can do to build trust, develop the relationship, and ensure more wonderful opportunities continue to be OFFERED in the future.

Not all opportunities OFFERED have to be in a professional setting, though.

Sometimes itā€™s an OFFER from your spouse to take you out on a date nightā€¦ šŸ„°

ā€¦or itā€™s an OFFER from your kids to play baseball at the park. āš¾

Perhapsā€¦ itā€™s an OFFER from your friend to grab lunch and catch up. šŸ”

All of these smaller opportunities, help continue to develop the relationship and learn more about each other.

Say YES to those more often than not and OFFER them opportunities to do the same back to you.

So when a bigger opportunity OFFER comes their way, theyā€™ll think about YOU and vice versa.

Many times, through the relationships youā€™ve developed, BIG opportunities are OFFERED because of your potential.

When someone else sees your potential, and OFFERS you an opportunity that aligns with where you want to go, even if youā€™re not sure you can do it, whatā€™s your next move?

GO ALL IN.

WHY? šŸ¤”

Because those opportunities wereā€¦

ā€¦prompted from their thoughtā€¦

ā€¦created with their effortā€¦

ā€¦discovered through their experienceā€¦

ā€¦and now OFFERED to YOU. šŸ«µ

That opportunity OFFER may not be there again and as long as it aligns with what YOU want as wellā€¦

GO FOR IT.

If you have an opportunity that youā€™ve thought of, created, or discovered, and you know someone else who would be ecstatic to consider itā€¦

ā€¦OFFER it to them as well.

Itā€™s up to them to decipher alignment and put in the work, but OFFERING opportunities to your relationships, continues developing trust and in turn drive more opportunities back to you.

This is the MINDSET SHIFT. šŸ¤Æ

Welpā€¦ there you have it!

This is what itā€™s all about.

Opportunity is Everywhere.

Itā€™s up to YOU to recognize the good ones to jump on and create PIVOTAL MOMENTS for yourself and those around you.

I would say that weā€™ve developed a pretty good relationship at this pointā€¦

Would you agree?!

Hereā€™s my OFFER to YOU. šŸ«µ

An opportunity to find alignment, avoid the chaos, and get clear with the foundation of who you are, where you want to go, why you want to get there, and how youā€™re going to do itā€¦ šŸš€

The OPPO FLOW Life Design Intro Playbook is available for digital download and because youā€™ve completed this Masterclass, I am dropping the price down from $49 to only $19. šŸ˜±

USE CODE: oppo30

THANK YOU for going through this Masterclass: The Power for Opportunity.

I truly hope you found a ton of value as you build stronger opportunity awareness towards your future success.

Weā€™ll be back next week with some updates, but in the meantimeā€¦

What did you think? šŸ¤”

If you donā€™t mind, please take a second to answer this poll, becauseā€¦

I'm curious... What are your overall thoughts on this Masterclass?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

P.S. Consider sharing this email with a friend by clicking the button below. šŸ‘‡

Check out Episode 55 of the SuccessFlow Podcast.

Please like, subscribe, comment, and share. šŸ¤—

Episode 55: Navigating the VUCA World we live in

Remember, Opportunity is Everywhere!!

Cheers! Steven

BTW, when youā€™re ready, hereā€™s a few ways I can help you. šŸ™‹ā€ā™‚ļø

1. Did you know I also run a franchised payroll business in PHX?! If youā€™re a small business owner, or know someone who is, JOURNEY PAYROLL can help.

2. If you have a team or planning an event, hire me for a workshop or to speak a keynote/breakout session. BOOK A TALK 

3. Looking for Purpose, Opportunity, and Community? Join the exclusive OPPO FLOW Alliance & Mastermind (OFAM) to grow personally and professionally with like minded individuals in pursuit of consistent SUCCESS.

šŸ‘‰ APPLY TODAY

Ohhh.... and also, there's a few Social Media icons around this email. See them? Cool! Click them. Follow for more OPPO FLOW stuff throughout the week. Also, if you know someone who needs a nudge or just likes entertaining mindset stuff, please share this email with them, and they can subscribe for FREE!

As always, thanks for your support. šŸ™