Opportunity is Everywhere

FLIGHT #037

Welcome to the OPPO FLOW Storybook.

Each week I fly an entertaining and motivating story that provides actionable items to inspire growth towards your success and happiness.

The weekly flights bring you one of the following:

A MINDSET SHIFT to prepare for opportunity and build better habits towards success. 🤯

Or…

AN OPPORTUNITY STORY sharing inspirational pivotal moments from someone’s life that changed their trajectory in a positive way. 🚀

Let's get you introduced to our AMAZING CO-PILOT!!

OPPO FLOW™️ Workshops are available for Entrepreneur Groups, Small Business Owners, and Executive Leadership Teams.

Get ahead of the game to set the tone for 2024 by scheduling your workshop today!

FYI - If you’re interested in being a sponsored Co-Pilot for an upcoming FLIGHT, please SEND ME AN EMAIL

THE MINDSET SHIFT: 

Opportunity is Everywhere.

Hello there, my friend! 👋

We often have a tendency to think that opportunities only come around every so often.

While that may be true for HUGE opportunities, it’s time we shift our mindset to realizing that every day provides FRESH opportunities to continue down your path of success and happiness.

After all, that’s what we’re all striving for, right?!

Success and Happiness.

Well, for me… the truth is… Yes and No.

Of course I want success and happiness for me and my family, but I am not just striving for it as an outcome.

Meaning… I’m not saying, I will feel successful and happy WHEN…”

As long as I am on this planet, there’s no end game to it.

Otherwise, it is temporary.

I have the opportunity to CHOOSE to be happy every single day with a little change to my perspective.

There are many times where I feel unmotivated or like nothing is going my way.

This happens to all of us.

The way I combat this is to force myself to do something that makes me happy.

This is achieved through the OPPORTUNITIES that I am presented with and the actions I take throughout my daily life.

The opportunity to…

  • Kiss my wife. 😘

  • Hug my kids. 👦👧

  • Go on a walk. 🚶‍♂️

  • Listen to music. 🎶

  • Work on a project. 💻

  • Laugh with my friends. 🤣

  • Scratch my dog’s belly. 🐶

  • Hold the door for a stranger. 🚪

  • Smile and say, “Hi, how are you?” 😊

I am creating opportunity by choosing to be happy everyday.

This is where it starts.

Recognizing opportunities in alignment with my perception of success…

…is what keeps me on my path.

op·por·tu·ni·ty

/ˌäpərˈto͞onədē/

noun

a situation or set of circumstances that makes it possible to do something with a positive outcome

a good chance for advancement or progress

If that’s the definition of opportunity, then the question you need to be asking yourself is…

“How do I find more good opportunities to act on?”

The key word here is GOOD.  

You’re not saying YES to everything.

In fact, you’ll be saying NO to more things.

But first you must figure this out…

  • Where do you want to go?

  • Who do you want to become?

Without a CLEAR vision, you’re in CHAOS.

You just are.

You’ll find yourself running around jumping at everything, or worse, doing nothing at all.

This is not a place you want to be and it’s wildly unfulfilling over time.

Not to mention, limiting your ability to reach your full potential.

Trust me…

This is exactly what I went through a couple years ago.

To prove this, let’s look at my Spotify Wrapped to give you a clue of my mental state in the last two years. 🤣🤣

2021 Most listened to Genre - EMO RAP

👇

2023 Most listened to Genre - INDIE POP RAP

I love listening to rap, but going from EMO to INDIE POP. 🤷‍♂️

Nothing like music telling a story!

In 2021, I was in my fourth year of growing the foundation for my payroll business, while maintaining my composure to ensure a happy family.

I was not taking care of myself…

I was all over the place…

Burning the candle at both ends, on the edge of BURNOUT MOUNTAIN. 🌋

Sooo… What Did I Do?

I developed a MINDSET SHIFT which has now become my IDENTITY and it can become yours as well.

Soo… let’s talk about it… 🗣️

It all starts with the first thought of wanting needing CHANGE.

Then it requires having an OPEN MIND to new ideas, mentally committing to trying new things, and meeting new people…

Define your PURPOSE to bring alignment with every single decision…

Become a knowledge seeker and put in the work to consistently be PREPARED…

Preparation instills confidence.

Confidence makes it much easier to recognize the good OPPORTUNITY to jump at along the way and create more PIVOTAL MOMENTS in your life to continue down the path towards your perception of SUCCESS. 🤩

Easier said than done, sure.

But these are not just words spewed out into thin air…

You have 3-5 pivotal moments that you can vividly remember from your life that got you to where you are today.

These specific moments, and/or the decisions that followed, provided an OPPORTUNITY to say YES or NO to various actions that changed the trajectory of your life.

YES to that…

  • Relationship

  • Investment

  • Adventure

  • Habit

  • Job

NO to that…

  • Relationship

  • Investment

  • Adventure

  • Habit

  • Job

The exact same opportunity could be a yes for you and no for someone else.

It’s up to you to figure out if it aligns for YOU.

A good weekly practice to find alignment and help you with your future decisions is to reflect by asking yourself these questions from the week prior…

  • Who did I spend my time with?

  • What did I spend my money on?

  • Where did I go for a mindful retreat?

  • Did I develop a positive change?

  • How did I act in my professional life?

If the answers don’t align with who you want to be or where you want to go…

…take immediate action on making change.

If they do, continue down the path and…

…GO ALL IN. 👊

You are presented with opportunities every single day.

And 99% of the time, these aren’t MASSIVE GROUND-BREAKING opportunities…

These are every day opportunities such as…

  • Choosing the healthy snack, instead of the candy.  

  • Going for a five minute walk away from your desk when you’re feeling stressed, instead of grinding it out.

  • Showing up to a meeting with someone, instead of blowing them off.

  • Taking your kids out for ice cream after dinner, instead of saying, “I’m too tired.”

  • Starting a new project or find a resolution to a problem without being asked, instead of waiting for direction.

  • Meditating in the morning to set the tone for your day, instead of scrolling your phone.

  • Surprising your significant other with a date night, instead of brainless activity by yourselves.

An opportunity could be something that is presented to you externally by someone else or internally by a thought that pops into your head.

An opportunity is either created by the work you put in, discovered by the awareness you have, or provided through the relationships you’ve developed.

It is your responsibility to recognize the good opportunities that come your way, decipher them, and decide to act on them or not.

Some of these opportunities will become PIVOTAL MOMENTS that change the trajectory of your life in a positive way.

Your future self will look back on these moments and say…

“Damn, I sure am glad I did that!”

These moments are your Opportunity Stories.

Create more of them.

Jump at the OPPORTUNITIES that challenge you for GROWTH.

GROWTH brings FOCUS.

FOCUS brings PROGRESS.

PROGRESS brings KNOWLEDGE.

KNOWLEDGE brings CLARITY.

CLARITY brings AWARENESS.

AWARENESS brings OPPORTUNITY…

…and OPPORTUNITY brings further GROWTH.

This is CYCLICAL.

This is OPPO FLOW.

This is the MINDSET SHIFT. 🤯

“It takes character to sit there with all that cash and do nothing. I didn't get to where I am by going after mediocre opportunities.”

~ Charlie Munger, RIP

Until our next FLIGHT, check out our latest episode of the SuccessFlow Podcast and feel free to like, subscribe, comment, and share.

Episode 27: Making Changes in the Hunt for Success with Marcos Rodriguez

Remember, Opportunity is Everywhere!!

Cheers! Steven

BTW, when you’re ready, here’s a few ways I can help you. 🙋‍♂️

1. Did you know I also run a payroll business in PHX?! If you’re a small business owner, or know someone who is, JOURNEY PAYROLL can help.

2. If you have a team or planning an event, hire me for a workshop or to speak a keynote/breakout session. BOOK A TALK 

3. Check out the SuccessFlow Podcast🎙️ Tune in and follow wherever you listen to your pods.

Quick Links for SPOTIFY | APPLE | YOUTUBE

Ohhh.... and also, there's a few Social Media icons around this email. See them? Cool! Click them. Follow for more OPPO FLOW stuff throughout the week. Also, if you know someone who needs a nudge or just likes entertaining mindset stuff, please share this email with them, and they can subscribe for FREE!

As always, thanks for your support! eve