Mindset Shift: Define your PERSONAL Core Values

FLIGHT #018

Welcome to the OPPO FLOW Storybook. 

Each week I fly an entertaining and motivating story that provides actionable items to inspire growth towards your success and happiness.

The weekly flights bring you one of the following:

A MINDSET SHIFT to prepare for opportunity and build better habits towards success. 🤯

Or…

AN OPPORTUNITY STORY sharing inspirational pivotal moments from someone’s life that changed their trajectory in a positive way. 🚀

Let's get you introduced to our AMAZING CO-PILOT!!

Discover how you can have a beach money lifestyle and work from anywhere, even you are not sure where to start. Build the life you love.

FYI - If you’re interested in being a sponsored Co-Pilot for an upcoming FLIGHT, please SEND ME AN EMAIL

Thinking about what the rest of your life looks like and not thrilled with your current trajectory?

THE MINDSET SHIFT: Start by Defining your Personal Core Values

I am a couple years away from the “Over the Hill” age of 40. 😨

I still feel young, but also know that time FLIES. ✈️

A little over a year ago, I really started the think about what I wanted the rest of my life to look like.

I started asking myself these questions…

  • What’s my true PURPOSE?

  • How do I define SUCCESS?

  • How do I build my LEGACY?

  • Are my current habits ALIGNED?

  • Do the people in my life bring me POSITIVITY and JOY?

  • Am I reciprocating at a high level to continue strong RELATIONSHIPS?

Life is short, but there’s also so much time.

You can accomplishment A LOT in a year, let alone 5 years, 10 years, 20 years, or more…

The average life span for a human being in the US is roughly 79 years old.

No matter what age you’re at now, from this point forward, what you do with that time and who you spend it with is what matters most.

It’s nearly impossible to accomplish everything you want in life and become fulfilled by the end of it, without knowing who YOU really are and what YOU really stand for.

Most of my life, I would identify as a CHAMELEON. 🦎

A chameleon has the ability to adapt to any environment.

They are aware of their surroundings with their eyes having the ability to move independently of each other.

Adaptability and versatility are valuable traits to have.

However, ONLY if you don’t let it compromise your core beliefs and you can maintain your own authenticity.

I let this get away from me a little bit…

There were times throughout my life where I didn’t have that vision. 😔

I thought I did, but now I know I didn’t really because of how easily I would let it be compromised.

And that was because I didn’t truly have my values defined or didn’t stand behind them and that led to some negative habits.

Suffice to say, I wasn’t too thrilled with where my life was going. It was not bad by any means, but didn’t feel as though I was tapping into my full potential.

I realized that in order to re-define my PURPOSE, and change the TRAJECTORY of where I wanted to go, I had to start by determining a set of guided principles to leverage in everything that I do.

MY PERSONAL CORE VALUES.

In business, there should MUST be a set of Core Values that is instilled into the company’s culture and people.

It’s what defines them from a foundational standpoint and allows for better decision making.

This helps everyone remain on the same page and ensures alignment between the organization’s vision and the people within it.

It provides values to fall back on when things get a little WONKY. 🤪

If defining them for a business is that important, then why wouldn’t YOU define them for yourself?

AHA! 💡

Think about this for a second…

If you had a set of PERSONAL Core Values truly defined, how much easier would it be to make a decision with life’s most important areas…

  • Career

  • Marriage

  • Finances

  • Relationships

  • Health

  • Mindset

Defining YOUR personal core values and leveraging them as guided principles allows for stronger and more confident decision making.

This brings ALIGNMENT.

Some of those principles, not all, but some of them must be unwavering commitments to yourself and actions as NON-NEGOTIABLES.

When you have a non-negotiable core value, you establish boundaries that prevent you from participating in or tolerating situations that would comprise that core value.

This creates authenticity and allows you to unapologetically be who you really are.

Once your core values are defined, the next step is to commit, test them out, and set those expectations with those around you.

Move on from those habits and the people who no longer fit into your new world. 🌎

Remember, though, leave room for revisits and refinements of those principles and values over the years.

There always will be a need for this to continue your GROWTH. 📈

This makes sense because your priorities, relationships, and ideologies change.

And so your Core Values must also adapt as you continue down the path towards your SUCCESS.

“Your core values are like a lighthouse, guiding you through life’s storms.”

~ Simon Sinek

That’s what a SUCCESSFUL person does. 🤩 

  • They GROW. 📈

  • They LEARN. 🤓

  • They DEFINE. ✍️

  • They CREATE. ⚒️

  • They DEVELOP. 💻

  • They EXECUTE. 🎬

  • They GO ALL IN. 💪

They know who they are, what they stand for, and where they’re going.

This is the MINDSET SHIFT. 🤯

If you haven’t defined yours yet, or don’t have them written down, I created a PERSONAL CORE VALUES PLAYBOOK for you to use.

This PLAYBOOK will help you reflect on your prior experiences, consider characteristics that matter most to you, and think about those you admire as you define them.

It also asks you to decide which of your Core Values are your NON-NEGOTIABLES.

Click the image below to download the FREE Playbook. 👇

I trust this FLIGHT resonated and was helpful as you continue to think about what the rest of YOUR life looks like.

Feel free to reply back to this email with your PERSONAL CORE VALUES and let me know if you feel you are in ALIGNMENT with them.

No judgement. I am here as a resource. 😊

Until our next FLIGHT, enjoy your Song of the Week! 👇

BTW, when you’re ready, here’s a few ways I can help you. 🙋‍♂️

1. Did you know I also run a payroll business in PHX?! If you’re a small business owner, or know someone who is, JOURNEY PAYROLL can help.

2. If you have a team or planning an event, hire me for a workshop or to speak a keynote/breakout session. BOOK A TALK 

3. Check out the SuccessFlow Podcast🎙️ Tune in and follow wherever you listen to your pods.

Quick Links for SPOTIFY or APPLE

Remember, Opportunity is Everywhere!!

Cheers! Steven

Ohhh.... and also, there's a few Social Media icons around this email. See them? Cool! Click them. Follow for more OPPO FLOW stuff throughout the week. Also, if you know someone who needs a nudge or just likes entertaining mindset stuff, please share this email with them, and they can subscribe for FREE!

As always, thanks for your support!